Officially dead

Well, after two years with no new posts and no new code, I think it’s time to declare this project dead.

I switched to GNU/linux and FreeBSD a while back and I use my Windows box as a console with a mouse and keyboard exclusively.

I also learned a few new things about programming thus I would prefer to do a fresh start over a major refactoring/redesign of the actual code. Which code I could release (even if I’m a bit ashamed about it.) along with the last binary version ( because I doubt anyone would be brave enough to try compiling the project with all these old dependencies.).

Sorry to you Grale, Anthony, Brendan, Herbert, Knuckles and anyone waiting for a new release. It was nice to see I wasn’t the only Lander fan on earth.

That said, it’s not impossible that I reboot this project one day or another. I’m not giving up on the idea to make a game with the Psygnosis Lander gameplay. I replay Lander periodically and each time I feel the need for this experience in brand new levels. As we all do, I guess.

Thrust you.

5 Responses to Officially dead

  1. roid says:

    glad you had fun.

    Learning new things about programming is what it’s all about. So… success!

  2. Anthony says:

    Thanks for your update and for your honesty! I know what it’s like; Flyin’ Irons is in a similar situation. I have ideas of what to do with it, and what I should have done with it in the first place, and I still want to do it. I think one day, Flyin’ Irons will return, and I hope Hopper will too. There is still a distinct lack of games like this. Good luck to you.

  3. Charlie says:

    Release the source code guys! Don’t be ashamed; you’ve created playable games, even if they’re incomplete/WIP. If you release the source, maybe somebody else can pick it up. If you don’t? Then the destiny is certainly death for your projects.

  4. Charlie says:

    Register a googlecode/github project, upload the source and compile instructions, then post here:
    http://forum.freegamdev.net/

  5. sirGustav says:

    The url is dead, managed to find the 7z on my hd and uploaded it to github: https://github.com/madeso/hopper/

Leave a Reply

